So Space

by Ashley M

Tulip Sunday

DCIM100MEDIA

What felt like not long ago was the start of spring in Wellington, and to welcome the season, Wellingtonians gathered at the Botanic Gardens to celebrate Tulip Sunday.

DCIM100MEDIA

Beautiful weather and sun that day – simply amazing after 3 months of brooding winter. Flowers were blooming beautifully too! My mom and Doug’s love tulips, I can see both moms enjoying the sight of these beauties if they were here.

20150927_124756

20150927_124905

20150927_125051

There were not only tulips but other beautiful flowers to see there. Tulip Sunday was to celebrate Dutch culture and tulips (duh) as part of the Spring Festival 2015 in Wellington. Probably one of the festivals in Wellington I’ve really enjoyed!

20150927_124822

20150927_124817

DCIM100MEDIA

DCIM100MEDIA

It was a nice day for a stroll and sightseeing, with some entertainment taking place at the Soundshell, as I do recall some Dutch girls doing a Dutch dance and some singing.

DCIM100MEDIA

DCIM100MEDIA

It wasn’t so windy that day so I could wear my hat without the fear of needing to chase it if it got blown away. One time it blew across the street and I ran after it, thankfully there was no traffic at the time. RIP hat if there were cars going about!

DCIM100MEDIA

Some cherry blossom trees. So gorgeous! Don’t have to go all the way to Japan to see this.. and also part of Doug’s ear and head.

One of the reasons I love Wellington is this. You can see it in the pictures. Things here are well taken care of, public places are nice and clean. The people really look after these places so that everyone can enjoy it. Makes me thankful for being able to experience this while back at home I have an immense fear of public restrooms and public phones which are mostly vandalized and etc. I’m amazed at how beautiful things are here, despite being a quaint small town.

20150927_130345

DCIM100MEDIA

DCIM100MEDIA

DCIM100MEDIA

This was the view from the top o the Botanic Gardens, overlooking the Lady Norwood Rose Garden and Cafe – which is that little greenhouse to the right side of the circle. Great coffee and food but it was so packed that day that we decided to skip the cafe.

20150927_125510

Kids playing around at the fountain and people walking their dogs. I love seeing little dogs walking around and go crazy over them!

20150927_125537

20150927_125652

Poppies – one of my favourite flowers as well. Love them so much I got a few of my own from a florist nearby my place.

I bought them as little buds before they bloomed – just to see them bloom, probably one of the most exciting things I’ve seen. Florist probably thinks I’m crazy but what the heck, pretty sure she’d get it. It would’ve been cooler if I could time lapse the whole thing.

So yeah, that pretty much sums up my love for flowers and Tulip Sunday! What’s your favourite flower? Comment below if you love flowers too. 🙂

20150927_125846

xxx,

Ashley M

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 27, 2015 by in Uncategorized, Wellington and tagged , , .
